Thanksgiving meal or thankful?

We gather together as family or friends to give thanks, but are we truly thankful.  I mean we have turkey, ham, cranberry sauce, pumpkin pie, etc…  Are we thankful for the things and people that we should be?  My husband, my kids, my son in laws, my stepchildren, that’s what I’m thankful for.  The food is just a lure to gather everyone together.  I am thankful that so far, my grand baby Isla, is healthy and on her way, mommy is having a rough time, therefore, I am thankful that my daughter is able to suffer through all that she has and is going to go through. 

We say we’re thankful, but I have to wonder, are we truly feeling what we are professing with our mouths?  I, myself, am a miracle to be here.  In 2004, I tried to end it all, and then, I can say I must not have been very thankful at all.  I am growing and learning how to be truly thankful.  There are people, and even family that I stay aggravated at, I won’t name names.  They aren’t thankful for anything at all.  Everything to them, is, what’s in it for me.  They think, “I’ll at least get a free meal, maybe, I can borrow some money.”  Nope, that is not a thankful heart, it’s selfishness.  I have lost a real father at the age of 18 months, 3 years later a mother that  disowned me because she loves a child molester.  I can truly say, I”m thankful for true family.

Be thankful that there is someone that wants you at there house to have a meal.  You have somewhere to go, there are many that don’t.  If you say you’re going to go have a meal with the family that love you ,go, some day, you’ll be regretful that you missed the chance to exchange stories and tease each other.  Think of others, not just how inconvenient it is to move from house to house.  When I was young I used to think like that, but, my dysfunctional family, (with a molesting stepfather in it, gave me a reason) to dread holidays.  What reason do you have for being unthankful?

I see my husband striving to have a true relationship with his kids, if only, someone had tried that hard with me, if only they would still  try.  I have family that want relationships on their terms, only.  That’s not love.  That’s ‘obligation and choices.  Love, respect, loyalty, that’s family.  Unconditional love.  Not on anyone’s terms, just love.

Be thankful, for anything and everything.  God is out there, no, he is here.  He shows me through the eyes of my children.

Happy Thanksgiving Friends!!!

Leave a Reply

